WMO Awards recognise outstanding contributions in the field of meteorology, breakthroughs in scientific research, young scientists for their exceptional contributions to meteorology and climatology, and young engineers/scientists working on development hydrometeorology.

International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize

The IMO Prize originates from the International Meteorological Organization, the predecessor to WMO. The IMO Prize is awarded annually. The first was presented to Dr Th. Hesselberg of Norway in 1956.

Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Awards

The Executive Council established the Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Award for an Outstanding Research Paper on Instruments and Methods of Observation in 1985 and the Professor Dr Vilho Väisälä Award for the Development and Implementation of Instruments and Methods of Observation  in 2004. This 2nd award focuses mainly on encouraging instrument work in developing countries and countries with economies in transition. Both Awards are granted on a biennial basis. 

WMO Research Award for Young Scientists

The World Meteorological Congress established this prize for outstanding scientific research work in the field of meteorology in 1967.  It was subsequently named the WMO Research Award for Young Scientists. The Executive Council has been granting the Award annually since 1970.

Professor Mariolopoulos Award

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award was created in 1996 by the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences, which is in Athens, Greece. The Award is granted every year in recognition of young scientists for exceptional contributions to meteorology and climatology. 

International Hydrology Prize

Nominations for the Prize are made by National Committees to IAHS, National Committees to the UNESCO-IHP or National Hydrological Advisors to the WMO, and forwarded to the Secretary General of IAHS for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO. 

HMEI Award for Young Engineers

The HMEI Award honours young engineers, not exceeding the age of 35 at the time of nomination, for outstanding work that has been published either in a scientific journal, a significant technical report, a project report or as summary of a successfully defended PhD thesis or that has been granted a patent.

Norbert Gerbier-Mumm International Award

The Norbert Gerbier-Mumm International Award recognizes an original scientific paper on the influence of meteorology in a particular field of the physical, natural or human sciences, or, conversely, the influence of one of those sciences on meteorology.